TSTA 143rd House of Delegates Opening Ceremony April 29, 2022, 2:30 pm CT


Ovidia Molina, TSTA President

Presentation of Colors

Alief ISD Joint ROTC Color Guard

National Anthem

Port Arthur Memorial High School Choir,
under the direction of Jacoby Rashad Berry

Pledge of Allegiance

Evelina Loya, TSTA-R Vice President

Thought of the Day & Moment of Silence

Tatiana Oney, TSTA-AE President

NEA Secretary-Treasurer Keynote

Host Committee Presentation

Award Ceremony

NEA Secretary-Treasurer

Noel Candelaria

Noel Candelaria is the Immediate Past President of the Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA), the state affiliate of the National Education Association (NEA). Prior to his election as TSTA President, Noel served three years as TSTA Vice President after a distinguished tenure as President of the Ysleta Teachers Association (YTA) in El Paso, Texas, where he worked as a Teacher’s Aide and Special Education Teacher in the Ysleta Independent School District (YISD), teaching subjects ranging from Algebra to World History.

Noel and his wife Patty, who is a National Board-Certified teacher, are tireless advocates committed to the success of every student in their community, across Texas, and the nation. Throughout his career, Noel has emphasized the importance of relationships built on trust – in the classroom, the community and the political arena. He believes our public schools should provide every student the best opportunity to fulfill their individual potential. As TSTA President, Noel worked with members and local leaders across the state daily to create the best possible learning environment for our students and working environment for our educators.

At the national level, Noel has worked with the National Teachers Hall of Fame (NTHF) and while acting as the chair of the Memorial to Fallen Educators, legislation was passed to designate the monument as a National Memorial site. Noel is currently the Treasurer of the NTHF. Noel was also elected by his fellow state presidents to lead the National Council of State Education Associations (NCSEA) and served as NCSEA President this past year.

Noel has been appointed to be a part of multiple national committees and task forces including the NEA Human and Civil Rights Committee and the NEA Member Benefits Corporation Board. He has also been asked to be a speaker at several national conferences on various topics including Racial and Social Justice, classroom management, and creating high quality association leaders. As a son of hard-working immigrants growing up in his beloved home town of El Paso, the importance of education and the opportunities that a quality public education can provide were core values instilled in him.  Noel is grateful and honored to be an advocate for students and educators in the meaningful work of ensuring those opportunities are always available for others.

Thank you to our amazing Host Committee!

Patricia Heintzelman, TFA

Kimberly Jackson, Region 16

Ronald Kotts, Region 14

Dr. Michelle Lockwood-Snodgrass, Region 17

Lakeisha Patterson, Region 15