2021-2022 Ronnie Ray ESP Advocate of the Year Award

Federico Rios Jr.

2020-2021 Ronnie Ray ESP Advocate of the Year Award
Maria G. Hernandez

Ermalee Boice Instructional Advocacy Award
Adriana Abundis

Leaders for Tomorrow
Daniella Monsivais, Ysleta Teachers Association

Pride in Communications

Best Association Newsletter
Lubbock Educators Association
President: Lauren Smith
Editor: Heather Gatlin

Best Association Website
Ysleta Teachers Association
President: Arlinda Valencia
Editor: Marcela Aguayo

School Bell Awards

Outstanding Continuous Coverage
Corbett Smith, The Dallas Morning News
Aliyya Swaby, The Texas Tribune
Molly Smith, The El Paso Times

Outstanding coverage of numerous education issues throughout the year.

Outstanding Story
Melissa Taboada, The Texas Tribune
“As the pandemic grinds on, Texas students increasingly feel alone and scared, and some are thinking about suicide”

Outstanding Television Multimedia Series
KXAN-TX (Austin), KXAN Investigates
“Pandemic PASS Or FAIL: Solutions for Education Equity”

Outstanding Television Series
Alex Caprariello, KXAN-TV (Austin)
“Racism at Westlake”

Outstanding Editorial
El Paso Times, Editorial
“Texas needs benchmarks for school reopenings”